Making the Complex Simple

All code can be classified into two distinct roles; code that does work (algorithms) and code that coordinates work (coordinators).

The real complexity that gets introduced into a code bases is usually directly related to the creation of classes that group together both of these roles under one roof.

I’m guilty of it myself.  I would say that 90% of the code I have written does not nicely divide my classes into algorithms and coordinators.

Defining things a bit more clearly

Before I dive into why we should be dividing our code into clear algorithmic or coordinating classes, I want to take a moment to better define what I mean by algorithms and coordinators.

Most of us are familiar with common algorithms in Computer Science like a Bubble Sort or a Binary Search, but what we don’t often realize is that all of our code that does something useful…

Ver la entrada original 957 palabras más

Responder

